The morning coffee


Every day I wake up and think to myself “what is the purpose of my life, there must be something I have been born to do that is worthy of my existence.” I drag myself slowly towards the bathroom to brush my teeth and take my warm shower. All fresh and clean I walk towards the kitchen, make myself my first cup of coffee as I tell myself that “today I will cut down on my intake of coffee”. I walk towards the living room and sit down on the couch sipping on; what I have convinced myself to be, the one thing that can actually wake me up. I stare blankly at my panoramic windows that possess the beauty of a breath taking sea view, watching the blue water merge so silently with the bright blue sky above it. Lighting up my first cigarette I allow my mind to go back in time, to venture into different worlds of my life that I have either blocked out or indulged in.

The silent whisper of my memories takes away fifteen minutes of my morning. I come to realize the time and jump off the couch to rush to the comforts of my bedroom. As I get dressed I stare at myself in the mirror, what happened to my body? I realize, the years are what happened to my body. I tell myself that today will be the day that I will go to the gym, work out till I sweat and then go get a full facial to vitalize my face. A smile creeps up my face in anticipation of my daily, new resolution, knowing very well that it is something that will never happen. I hastily look around for my bag, finding it on the couch. I grab it as I rush out of the house ready to start my long drive to work, ready for my music, ready for the phone calls, ready to face another day that will bring no light to the purpose of my existence.

About Rana Zaben
I help people feel their best and create a solid second income to enjoy the best things in life.

Leave a Reply

