A moment in memory lane


A wonderful artist i came across on the internet his name is R young. Beautiful, breath taking paintings

It’s a silent night in a silent house, everyone has gone to sleep and I am left alone to do as I wish. There is a closed off room in the house that holds an abundance of all my old belongings. With nothing to do but sit and listen to the useless chatter taking place in my thoughts I walk towards the closed door and pry it open. I am dumbfounded by the amount of boxes and suitcases cluttering up what used to be the guest bedroom. I switch on the lights and walk into the room not knowing where to start and what box to look into first. I look to my right and see three large boxes piled up on top of one another and decide to open the most accessible one to me. There is a transparent scotch tape holding only one side of the box closed, which takes me an extra three seconds to wedge off. I tear open the box and to my amazement I find a whole bunch of my oldest collection of cassette tapes. My hands are inside the box pulling out one tape at a time, trying to remember what each one contained. I get restless from standing over the box on my tiptoes and at a whim start carrying the box as my legs and arms shiver from its weight. I place it down on the floor, dust my hands off and cross my legs as I slowly place myself neatly on the floor.

As i sit there rummaging through all my old things, i come across an abundance of old tapes i used to be obsessed with. There are tapes with stickers on them expressing their importance to me, others have a mini list of song titles to tell me what songs are on that specific tape. I have travelled back in time, I am actually walking down my own personal memory lane and I am loving every minute of it.  I pick up one tape and try really hard to read the washed off remains of the words on it; to no avail. I get off the floor, tape in hand, and rush off towards the adjacent room; my eyes scan the space as my legs walk towards the cassette player that is still sitting patiently on the console. Excitedly I stick the tape in hoping it will still work although it has accumulated an abundance of dust throughout the years.

“Song instead of a kiss” engulfs the entire space and filters itself into my longing ears. My face broadens with a smile as I start to waltz around the room in a sweeping manner, holding the tip of my dress in between my thumb and forefinger. I am on my tip toes gliding across the room, singing to the words I had long forgotten, or thought I had forgotten, when all of a sudden the tape screeches, a click and one of my oldest best friends voices is blaring out of the tape recorder “I cant believe it…..they just stopped it…unbelievable…UNBELIVABLE… THEY ARE SO irrrriiiitttaaaattttiiiinnnnnggggggggg” she yells at the top of her lungs. My dress drops out of my fingers as I tilt my head upwards to release an explosion of laughter at the obviously very angered voice seeping its way out of the speakers.

Click…shshshshshshs…click….song instead of a kiss, baby this is a song instead of a kiss…for all of you who ach so much….here is a song instead of a kiss….click. The tape stops, end of side A.

I start laughing even more, this time falling down on my knees with my head droppping forward between my legs as my hands grasp the carpeted floor to help hold up my upper body. The change of moods was shockingly distorting and the flood of memories that came with the screeching break in the middle of an amazingly wonderful song reminded me of the days back in high school.

I remembered it so well, and if it weren’t for the rude interference with the song I would have never remembered that specific incident. Me and my best friend loved to dance, we walked around with our cassette tapes everywhere we went, sometimes we even bought our stereo to school. On one of our many after school events we decided to watch the boys in our group play basketball in the front courtyard. Naturally we carried out our stereo with our collection of tapes and walked towards them. We placed our beloved items on the wide rim of a planter that was located right next to the basket ball court. The tape we chose to play was a mixed song tape, meaning that it had a variety of slow and fast songs all jumbled up. When the song “Song instead of a kiss” came up, the boys grunted and rolled their eyes, it was too much of a girly song for them at the time, they wanted something to keep them pumped up as they played their game. Me and my friend decided to ignore their grunts and started to sway to the song paying no attention to their elevating voices as they tried to mimic the song with soprano like sounds. To our surprise one of the boys had the guts to leave the game, rush over towards our stereo and stop the song. What we all didn’t know back then was that he pressed the record button instead of the stop button, allowing the wonderful memory of my friend screaming at the top of her lungs at the boys in utter disgust as she hovered towards the player to continue playing the song, to last a lifetime with me. A memory of innocence and simplicity that I cherish with all my heart till this very day.

Here is the song and the lyrics, maybe you also have a wonderful memory to this song.

Enjoy 🙂

Click it if you want it: Song Instead Of A Kiss

Song
Instead of a kiss
Baby this is a

Song
Instead of a kiss

For all of you who ache, who long
For nights like this

Song
Instead of a touch
Darlin’ this is a

Song
Instead of a touch

To all of you who wait so long It is for those who like to cling
It is to those, to those I
And need so much

sing
Here is a song instead of a clutch
Instead of a moon
Instead of a soothing touch
In the afternoon

It is for those who like to cling
It is to those, to those I sing
Here is a song instead of a clutch
Instead of a moon
Instead of a soothing touch
In the afternoon

About Rana Zaben
I help people feel their best and create a solid second income to enjoy the best things in life.

Leave a Reply

