The painting urge


It always starts this way, I will be sitting peacefully with friends in a coffee shop or walking in a mall or sitting at a friend’s house when out of nowhere this craving, this urge, this internal scream to rush back home and start to paint overwhelms everything within me. I slowly start to lose focus in whatever conversation I would be indulged in as images start to manifest themselves onto an imaginary canvas that can only be seen by me. That is when I know there is an internal message pushing it’s way out of me, waiting to tell me what it is that I need to do. The only way I am able to relieve myself of the emotions that come along with the images is to get it all out on a canvas and walk away from the world for a few days.

Not my most recent one..but the first one leading to the one i just finished yesterday

The interesting part in all this is that none of those images actually make themselves visible once I do start the painting in mind. There are other forms taking place, different symbols that appear before me and before I know it I have a huge canvas showing me something that had nothing to do with what I had originally thought all those floating images in my head meant. Each and every canvas I have ever painted has given me a different message, a new understanding to something deeply manifested within my subconscious mind and a message to allow for my next decision in life.

My newly finished canvas is leaning peacefully on one of my empty walls waiting to be hung, and the understanding it has given me is one that I can never part with, for I will always need to look at it to remind myself of the faith I should always have deep within my heart.

About Rana Zaben
I help people feel their best and create a solid second income to enjoy the best things in life.

4 Responses to The painting urge

  1. Rain-a beautiful description of the inner need and mysterious process that gives birth to a work of art.

  2. Lovely! Keep following those urges!

Leave a Reply

