Trust in Alex-Part 2


Part 2

In the months that came after that I had to move offices and start to work in a site office that luckily I designed making it easier for me to make my office space to my liking. I made sure to have a floor to ceiling window which opens up and allows me easy access to the site and to a small little outdoors sitting arrangement I purchased on my account. There were two major reasons for my mandatory terrace and they were that I loved to smoke and I enjoyed nothing more than sitting in God’s nature outside of the confines of walls. So again, I had two office spaces that were purely for me and whoever came to visit me would end up sitting on my little terrace with a cup of coffee and their cigarette.

As I settled in my new little haven and was pleasantly surprised to notice that a lot of my colleagues that were still situated in the main office came to visit, making the move easier to handle especially when I was starting to have problems with my new manager. Alex was one of those colleagues and later on he was moved to work on a project that was no more than two minutes away from mine, making our meetings more often than with the rest of the gang. I constantly keep myself updated with his life and his wife, always craving to hear the sacrifices and love that was taking place between them. His wife was still in a depression and he was at a loss with what he can do for her. I maintained my admiration over his dedication to his wife and child growing more and more adamant for accepting nothing less in my future life from my spouse.

In the next coming months I asked him if we could all meet up again, I didn’t want to be a pressure on his wife by asking to go out with her for coffee alone especially that she was depressed and probably only wanted to spend time at home. So I went to Alex and asked him to make another outing, maybe there was something I could say that could help her feel better about things, all my friends went through it. It was then that I found out she had left town again cause she was not feeling well and needed to head back to spend time with her family in the states, he was going to accompany her for a week or so in a week or so.

Upon another one of his ventures into my tiny terrace space for a chat and a coffee Alex invited me to meet his friends that were coming into town to visit him. He knew about my traumatic experience with my ex roommate (blog: shocking Truth) and wanted to introduce me to a bunch of nice people for a change. He said I would really like them and that they will be having lunch on the weekend on the promenade under my house. With all honesty I never say no to anyone who asks me to join them especially when it is somewhere on the promenade under where I live. I asked him if his wife will be ok with that and he told me that she will have no problems with it, she liked me and she knows he has lots of girls as friends, so it was no big deal at all since she was out of town and knows his friends who are visiting and had already met me.

As the weekend started getting closer I started to debate the etiquette of actually going out for lunch with Alex and his friends without his wife present, I had only met her once and there was no way on earth I would ever want her to think that I would disrespect her lack of presence. I asked Alex again if Julie truly had no problems and he promised me that she was fine with everything, that she knew he had a full life and knew everything about it, he never lied to her about anything. I was comforted by that notion and put to sleep the nagging feeling I had internally.

At 10:00 am Friday morning I was wide awake, the weekend was here and I was excited to start a fresh day out in the sun. My work had been getting stressful and the challenges between me and my manager were getting out of control, so when the weekend came around I was elated with the sense of freedom. I stepped out of bed, had my morning coffee, my cigarette, played with my cat (it was only one cat at the time) and I started getting dressed for the long awaited lunch. I changed several outfits not knowing which to wear making sure I don’t wear something too provocative yet it needed to also be my weekend clothing style. In the back of my mind I was hoping that the group of friends I was about to meet had at least one Hot guy that had the same lovely traits that Alex possessed. So I was really getting dressed to attract a hotty to me yet not wanting anyone to think that my outfit was to attract Alex to me. At the end I went with what felt comfortable and was my typical weekend attire. I happily skipped towards the elevator as I continued my phone calls with other friends to plan for the rest of my day with them.

Running a few minutes late I hurriedly walked towards their table situated in the exact same spot that me and Julia first met. To my dismay I notice there are only three people on the table and none of them being a hotty. I perk up my disappointment in hopes that some more people will join us later on because Alex did say “Friends” not two friends. I seat my self in the only other available seat (confirming I am the last to attend this lunch) which is situated right in front of Alex. To his left sat a young man that possessed a lanky posture and a thin body frame with a golden wedding ring glittering in the sun light, he seemed like a nice guy but I didn’t feel that comfortable around him. So I turned around to say hello to the woman sitting on my left, making her on Alex’s right internally questioning myself if she were the lanky man’s wife. Obviously she was not, there was no ring there at all. She had a sexy body that she squeezed into a flaming red dress that reached no further than her thigh. The dress was accessorized with a row of buttons in the front making sure to hold both ends of the dress across her body as the gaps between each button were no less than an inch apart showing all the Victoria secrets that lay beneath it. Her face was nothing interesting, actually it was below average and so was her burnet out bleach blond hair. The most obvious thing though was the fact that Alex had seemed to have misplaced his wedding band, and the color difference between the rest of his finger and where his wedding band was meant to be was pretty obvious.

Once I was done saying hello to the woman on my left and the guy on right I looked directly into Alex’s eyes and asked him “Where is your wedding ring?” the shock on my face made him hesitate for a few seconds as he resorted to giving me his answer in Arabic a language the girl next to me didn’t know anything of.

To be continued…….

About Rana Zaben
I help people feel their best and create a solid second income to enjoy the best things in life.

2 Responses to Trust in Alex-Part 2

  1. Rain-I’ve read the first two installments of Alex’s story and eagerly await the next. Sad that a child’s birth opened such a fissure between he and his wife. By the way, you’re a wonderful storyteller and also, obviously, someone with a passionate interest in people.

    • Hey Marty, in all honesty if that was the reason, a child’s birth, i would have tried my best to have some excuse to give him (although that is also totally unfair to his wife) but since it had nothing to do with a childs birth the dissapointment was at a larger scale.
      Thank you so much for you compliment, i appreciate it more than you know…and yes i do have a great passion in people’s behaviour and stories.

      Warmest of wishes with lots of loving light
      Rain

Leave a Reply

